Download a CSV of the constituents of the FTSE-100 from Yahoo Finance

August 9, 2010

http://uk.old.finance.yahoo.com/d/quotes.csv?s=@%5EFTSE&f=s&e=.csv

3 Responses to “Download a CSV of the constituents of the FTSE-100 from Yahoo Finance”

  1. Paul said

    Hello!

    Thanks for posting this! I’ve tried out the URL but I only get 52 of the FTSE 100 constituents – do you think this is a Yahoo limitation, and if so do you know of a workaround?

    Paul

  2. Paul said

    Hi Mark,

    No joy with Yahoo for constituents I’m afraid. My new approach is to screen scrape http://www.lse.co.uk – a site called ‘London South East’ – check out the URL http://www.lse.co.uk/index-constituents.asp?index=idx:ukx&indexname=ftse_100

    I then use a combination of html2text, grep and sed to get a list of symbols. I suspect that excessive screen scraping will result in them blocking us so go easy!

    I’ve found again that single sources of free data are prone to errors and incomplete fields so my approach is to build a system which scrapes as many feeds as possible then stitches them together to make a master record – if (when) a single feed breaks it hopefully means I won’t lose too much data.

    Hope that helps, let me know how you get on.

    Paul

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

